Connectivism

It’s only been in the past three years or so that I have been dedicated to an attitude of and proactivity to constantly learning and being aware of the world around me. In high school, college and a few years following college, I consumed information that was fed to me by teachers, professors or my direct supervisors at work. After I underwent a career change, I found myself to be transforming and maturing in various ways- including in the way I looked at learning. I realized a newfound interest in professional development, new software, current events and how they affect my daily life, etc. As I learn more, I understand more about my life, my community, my job and my society. This encourages me to think, consider new ideas, reach out for new experiences and continuously develop who I am as a person: socially, culturally and professionally.

This week, as we’ve been learning about connectivism, I’ve been thinking about how this learning style relates to my personal learning needs and methods. The main principles of connectivism include:

  • Learning and knowledge rests in diversity of opinions.
  • Capacity to know more is more critical than what is currently known.
  • Nurturing and maintaining connections is needed to facilitate continual learning.
  • Currency (accurate, up-to-date knowledge) is the intent of all connectivism learning activities.
  • Decision-making is itself a learning process. Choosing what to learn and the meaning of  incoming information is seen through the lens of a shifting reality. While there is a right answer now, it may be wrong tomorrow due to alterations in the information climate affecting the decision (Siemans, 2004).

With these principles in mind, I’ve concluded that my personal learning activities and style supports connectivism. This theory describes in many ways in which I am inspired to learn, retrieve and process information and draw conclusions to internalize into my own knowledgebase.

Resources

Connectivism: A Learning Theory for the Digital Age. Siemans, George. 2004. http://www.elearnspace.org/Articles/connectivism.htm

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

